Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone

harry-potter

New year, new book…

As 2017 has now come around I promised myself that I should stray away from using my phone so much or watching too much TV and start to read more. I have always loved reading but became so caught up with the technology that is available around me that I thought there is no time for reading anymore. My new year’s resolution to myself was to read at least 7 books by the end of the year (if you haven’t already guessed it, I chose the Harry Potter series).

The reason for choosing this series was because as a child I read these books and fell in love with the idea of magic and the endless possibilities it brought. With books you can escape to another land, another world where anything is possible and what better way to regain my love of books than the ones that I remember having a lasting impact on me for broadening my imagination and love of fiction.

I will mention now that this isn’t a step by step review of the whole book but more my thoughts and feelings of the book as a whole.

As I started to begin my magical journey with Harry Potter and his discovery of the wizarding world I realised that this book was in fact much more in depth than the films (as most books are) yet it gave me a much better understanding of the characters background and of the story line that got lost within the films. I hung on to every word as Harry journeyed through his first time at Hogwarts, meeting strange and wonderful people along the way and not to mention defeating the infamous Lord Voldemort and becoming more famous than ever before.

From the beginning I was completely engrossed, learning about Harry’s horrible upbringing with the Dursley’s made me really connect with him, feeling sympathy and hope that something good will happen to him. The characters themselves are really well written in a way that we can all understand on a personal level and connect too (everyone knows a bully, a silent hero or a nerdy best friend) and for J.K. Rowling to use these types of characters allows the idea of magic to be that much closer to home for the reader.

Personally I feel this book is one of the less sinister of the 7 as it introduces you to the history of Hogwarts, magic and the power of friendship. It does have its dark side to it, obviously every good story has to have a villain but for me Lord Voldemort is not portrayed as dark in this first book which is a nice way to start a series (make him more scary as the books go on). This book does have the uplifting sense of hope and happiness as Harry is whisked away to a magical new place to learn all about his past (not forgetting spells and potions).

Hogwarts itself is described wonderfully in this first book, giving the reader room to use their own imagination on what else could be lurking in the mass of corridors. Not to mention the feasts that are described are something that you could only dream of. The fact that Hogwarts is still a school makes reading this book again as an adult miss the thrill of starting a new year, learning new things and meeting new people (obviously Hogwarts has something my high school never did…magic!). Even though Hogwarts is a castle of wonder we need to remember that even though Harry is famous he still does his charms homework and goes to Quidditch practice like a good student.

Speaking of Quidditch, the rules of the game are explained clearly (even a Muggle like me can understand) and reading about Harry’s first Quidditch match made me glad I cannot fly a broom. However the tension of the match and the team spirit kept me reading on, I cannot express the level of detail that goes into these books to make you actually believe in such things as Quidditch yet this book did just that.

Finally, I think that overall my thoughts on this book are quite clear. This book is a brilliant start to what I can only express as a magical series and I cannot wait to continue reading and find out more about Harry’s journey in the next book ‘Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets’.

Until next time…

 

14 thoughts on “Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone

  1. Welcome to the blogging community!

    I’m a bit obsessed with Harry Potter myself so I have to say great choice!! I’m rereading them myself with my 7YO now. We’re half through the Chamber of Secrets now. Something cool we do while reading is put on Hogwarts related ambient sounds (which can be found on YouTube or in an app called Ambient Mixer) while we read. Happy reading! πŸ€“

    Like

    • Thank you so much, I must say I am a Harry Potter nerd so what better way to start my blog than with this series πŸ™‚ I’ve just started the chamber of secrets (will be my second blog post) but I must try the hogwarts related sounds! Thanks for that tip. I hope you continue to enjoy my blog πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  2. thanks much for visiting my blog – especially as its led me to your lovely site – what a great way to start 2017 – wishing you the best with it πŸ™‚

    Like

  3. A well-chosen first post! I really enjoyed reading this. I’ve not read this book (only 2 others) but they are showing the HP movies on TV here, there’s one every week and I’ve committed myself to watching all of them from beginning to end to finally be able to talk about this series with some expertise. It was great to read your review with the images of the movie in mind :-).

    Like

    • Thank you ever so much πŸ™‚ I’m glad you enjoyed reading my review. The Harry Potter series is one of my favourites. I will be posting the second book review this weekend so look out for that if you enjoyed reading this one πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Love this! Came across your post when searching for Harry Potter. They’re my favourite series ever, I really neat to reread them now. Mind having a read of my blog if you have time? I can’t believe this is your first post and you already have so many viewers and followers, well done!

    Like

    • Thank you so much!! I do love Harry Potter too, it’s so great to re read them as an adult. Of course I’ll have a read of your blog, more than happy too. I am quite shocked at the amount of engagement I’ve had from only one post but very happy and hopefully it will continue as I blog more πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

