Joyful Trouble – Patricia Furstenberg

Screenshot_20170514-152209
What a joy this book is…

This book is actually the first ‘children’ book I’ve reviewed and I got worried that being in my early 20’s I wouldn’t be able to connect with it. How wrong I was! This book brings so much joy (pun intended) that I would highly recommend to anyone no matter your age. As I’m a dog lover this book was already something I was looking forward too, as I prepared myself to falling in love with Joyful Trouble I was taken on a beautiful journey that Patricia Furstenberg created.

As mentioned before I am a dog lover, which made this story really hit home as we are shown that even the biggest of breeds (Great Dane) can be gentle giants, even if they are a little mischievous. This story follows the journey of Joyful Trouble, a Great Dane that serves in the Navy due to his love of the seamen. Showing true friendship between man and ‘beast’ we see how humans rely on dogs for more than just companionship but for specific services too.

The story itself flows beautifully, narrated by the granddad of two small children (Ana and Tommy) who tells the tale as part of bedtime stories. As we flick between the granddad reminiscing of his time in the Navy (alongside Joyful Trouble) and current time with his family after he has retired you get to see fully how Joyful Trouble effected so many people throughout the years. The writing style is aimed at young children yet still emphasised the important areas needed to make sense of the story, reflecting that of a bedtime story really gives this book a clean and easy reading opportunity with room to get completely engrossed and captivated (bringing me back to my childhood when I got read bedtime stories!).

The key to a good book is not getting bored, connecting with characters or the story and feeling a sense of happiness when finished. Joyful Trouble produced all of these, I knew that the story wasn’t too long but happily finished it in two sittings (only pausing due to work or sleep) but I did try to prolong the reading experience as long as possible. As for the connection, it made me nostalgic – bringing me back to my childhood where I fell in love with reading due to the stories my parents would read to me. The happiness is due to the book being so well written and even with it being based on a true event added that twist of original creativity that allows you to laugh, cry and love alongside the characters.

Personally this story would be wonderful to read to your own children but also if you’re looking for a book that you want to make you smile then Joyful Trouble is the one for you. No matter your age, anyone can benefit from reading this gem of a book! Honestly I would be happy to read more of Patricia Furstenberg’s work and hopefully find some more beautiful stories.

Until next time…

If you want to read ‘Joyful Trouble’ yourself you can purchase it on Amazon by following the link here.

Bio: Patricia Furstenberg
Patricia Furstenberg came to writing through reading, her passion for books being something she inherited from her parents. She loves to write children’s stories and poems about amazing animals. She believes each creature has a story and a voice, if only we stop to listen. She writes the ‘Sunday Dog Tales’ column for mypuppyclub.net, an Australian website shortlisted for Australia’s Top Influencers Award. Patricia is passionate about children’s right to read and she often writes on this topic for The Huffington Post South Africa.

Leave a Reply

